The Summer Workshop is Cancelled, but
The Conference on Education Law for Principals
by ED311 has moved online!

The ED311 conference will consist of 6 hour-long webinars comprising our originally scheduled line-up. ED311 is also bringing you 5 BONUS WEBINARS of special, timely content to help you, your staff, and students transition back to campus after state-wide school closures due to COVID-19. Our line-up of speakers for these extra webinars includes Jim Walsh, Dr. Andrea Ogonosky, and Sean Cain!

Early Payment Rates are extended through the life of the event and registration is still open! Learn more and Register.


• Covid-19 RESOURCES From our Corporate Partners

From the TASSP Executive Director:

Good afternoon, TASSP Members.

As of this morning (4/30) the TASSP Summer Workshop has been cancelled for June 10-12, 2020, as well as the TASSP Board Leadership Retreat scheduled for June 12-14, 2020. We received the following statement this morning, from the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, regarding the Summer Workshop.

“As concern regarding the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) continues to affect people and businesses around the world, Hilton is committed to doing our part to assist our guests, our customers, and the community at large. Our business relationship is important, and I want to reassure you that I am here to provide personal support and to help find solutions to the many challenges we are facing together during these uncertain times. We aim to be the sales partner that you can count on!”

“In light of the circumstances since we first communicated with Texas Association of Secondary School Principals about their cancelled event, we are now pleased to inform you that we will not require that your organization pay cancellation damages. Please reply confirming your desire to cancel TASSP’s Summer Workshop.”
Kim Zoulek, Director of Sales, Hilton Anatole Hotel, Dallas.

We will be posting information on the TASSP website regarding hotel room cancellations as well as our registration refund procedures for the Summer Workshop. More information will be forthcoming regarding the TASSP Board of Directors Meeting, New Board Member Orientation as well as recognition for the Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year, All-State Academic Students and Teens Serving Texas.

Thank you for your understanding of the cancellation of the TASSP Summer Workshop for June 2020.

Best wishes,
Archie E. McAfee

If you need to reach anyone at the TASSP, TASC, or TAFE offices, please email them. You will be contacted shortly either by email or phone call. Click on this link to locate staff member email addresses.

Thank you for your cooperation!


The TASSP staff has begun the refund process for all registrations for the Summer Workshop. For information regarding hotel room cancellations as well as our registration refund procedures for the Summer Workshop, please click the link below. There is also information regarding the TASSP Board of Directors Meeting, New Board Member Orientation as well as recognition for the Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year, All-State Academic Students and Teens Serving Texas.




2020 Fall Leadership Academy

Oct. 4-5, 2020 | Hilton Palacio Del Rio in San Antonio

Improve Campus performance and Student Achievement
through Better Instructional Leadership Techniques
Co-sponsored by TASSP and Lead Your School a TASSP Corporate Partner 

Due to the current status of the Corona Virus 19 and its impact on school districts, TASSP is canceling the New Principal Academy. The NPA was scheduled for July 9-12, 2020 at Trinity University. TASSP regrets any inconvenience this may cause on training new and aspiring administrators. TASSP is very proud of the quality of this professional development and the master teachers who lead the training. We will reinstate the New Principal Academy in the Summer of 2021. Keep watch on the TASSP website for updated information.

Best regards.
Cindy Jackson, Associate Executive Director
Professional Development, Government Relations, Corporate Partners & High School Services 

2019-2020 TASSP Principals and Assistant Principal of the Year

Congratulations to the following Principals and Assistant Principals for being selected by the
TASSP Principal Image Committee as the 2019-2020 Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year:


High School Principal of the Year & NASSP Representative for Texas
Jill Stafford, Principal, Lowery Freshman Center, Allen ISD – Region 10
Middle Level Principal of the Year
Ryan Bickley, Principal, Burnett Jr. High School, Wylie ISD – Region 10
Assistant Principal of the Year
Dr. Danielle Jackson, Assistant Principal, Thurgood Marshall High School, Fort Bend ISD – Region 4 


• From Texas Education Association:  (5/5) TEA Announces Class of 2020 Graduation Ceremony Guidance for Texas Schools: In-person graduation ceremonies can take place as early as May 15
(5/4) Chapters 1–11 of the 2020 Accountability Manual are now available. Because of the required administrative rulemaking process, these chapters are not yet final. The public comment period on the proposed rules (including the manual) closes on Monday, June 1, 2020. Public comments may be made through the TEA website or to: [email protected] 

• H-E-B Names Winners in 2020 Excellence in Education Awards Click HereCompany Recognized Outstanding Educators and School Districts with Cash Prizes and Grants Totaling $430,000.

• Take the Oath to Vote! The Texas Educators Vote website has everything you need to register to vote, research what will be on your ballot, and prepare to vote. Start the year off right by taking the Oath to Vote. Then, share it with your friends and family and encourage them to join you in voting in every election. By being a consistent voter, you will help create a culture of voting and choose leaders who will make important decisions that affect you every day. Read More...

   NEW: Revised Runoff Election Dates: Click here to view a message from Texas Educators Vote! (3/27)

• TASA (Texas Association of School Administrators) Summer Conference is going virtual! TASA is planning a dynamic online learning experience centered around the issues school leaders are facing due to the COVID-19 pandemic, including planning for the new school year. Get ready to gain valuable information from state officials, subject-matter experts, and your fellow school leaders in a completely online conference June 9-12, 2020 CLICK HERE

Special Thanks to our TASSP Corporate Partners! Click Here


How does my middle school become a Texas School to Watch? Click Here

TASSP Vision

To offer Texas principals and assistant principals a forum to explore the best practices in school administration with the ultimate goal of helping facilitate student learning. It is the intent of the organization that we honor our motto, "Above All, Students First," in all that we do.

Join / Renew TASSP Today!
Get involved! Volunteer with TASSP