2022-2023 Application Deadline: Sept. 15, 2022

TASSP in collaboration with 
The National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform

The Texas Association of Secondary School Principals and the National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform recognize that effective middle schools differ significantly from elementary and secondary schools in curriculum and instruction, preparation of teachers and administrators, and organization of time and space. In this era of educational reform and rising expectations, this program seeks to identify high-performing, high-impact middle schools to serve as comprehensive models from which other schools can learn and be inspired. This independent program is long-term, continuous, and is conducted by practicing middle grades professionals who understand the middle school concept. The criteria used to evaluate and select schools have been developed by the National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform and are uniform throughout all states participating in the program. Schools selected will be highlighted in publications and programs at both the state and national levels. Applicant schools are encouraged to contact and/or visit current Texas Schools to Watch prior to applying for the program.

What is a Texas School to Watch?

A Texas School to Watch is a school that consistently has moved to meet fully the nationally endorsed criteria for high-performing middle schools; one that has made marked progress in meeting all of these criteria, including measurable gains in the academic achievement of all students over time, and is committed to continuous improvement. These schools will serve as models and mentors for other schools seeking to improve.

The Schools to Watch School Improvement Toolkit
The National Forum to Accelerate Middle Grades Reform is excited to share a new product available to schools. The Schools to Watch School Improvement Toolkit provides schools with an introduction, guide, and support resources to guide their work toward becoming or continuing to be a School to Watch. Schools who purchase this package receive an electronic copy of the toolkit, Schools to Watch Self Rating Rubric, information about how to become a School to Watch, and access to the State Director for Schools to Watch in your local area. The cost of the toolkit is $50. Order your copy of the guide today! View Flyer and Order at WWW.MIDDLEGRADESFORUM.ORG

     Texas Schools to Watch Program

Applications for 2022-23 must be postmarked no later than Sept. 15, 2022. Contact Leti Menchaca with questions: 512-443-2100 ext 8506

Submission of Applications: One electronic copy should be e-mailed to [email protected] and if you choose to, you can mail an additional copy to:

Texas Schools to Watch
National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform
PO Box 224
Savoy, IL 61874

Schools to Watch - Texas:

  • 2022-2023 Application » (Deadline Sept. 15, 2022)

When a school clicks on the link above, they will need to save a copy. This will allow them to save their own application as their own and make changes as needed prior to submitting it.

Please download two forms below and include with application submissions:

National Forum to Accelerate Middle-Grades Reform: www.middlegradesforum.org

WINNERS: Schools to Watch - Texas: 2021-2022

Congratulations to the newly designated 2022 Texas Schools to Watch Campuses:

Bill Sybert Middle School, Gabriela Elliot – Principal; Socorro ISD in El Paso
Capt. Mark T. Voss Middle School, Dr. Beto Hinojosa – Principal; Boerne ISD in Boerne
Morris Middle School, Allison Lewallen – Principal; Pasadena ISD in Houston
Parkland Pre-Engineering Middle School, Dr. Angela Reyna – Principal; Ysleta ISD, El Paso
San Jacinto Intermediate School, Diane Phelan – Principal; Pasadena ISD, Pasadena

Congratulations to the redesignated 2022 Texas Schools to Watch:

B.L. Gray Jr. High School, Juan Heredia – Principal; Sharyland ISD, Mission
Redesignated I (2019 & 2022)

Berry Miller Junior High School, Tony Barcelona – Principal; Pearland ISD, Pearland
Redesignated I (2019 & 2022)

Melissa Middle School, Marcus Eckert – Principal; Melissa ISD, Melissa
Redesignated II (2016, 2019, 2022)

Seven Lakes Jr. High School, Kristen Harper – Principal; Katy ISD, Katy
Redesignated II (2016, 2019, 2022)

Congratulations and Thanks to all of the Texas Schools to Watch!